Hollywood Trolling Hard with Snowden and Obama biopics

These are some gifts for anyone who’s feeling blue. Up first, the trailer for Oliver Stone’s, Snowden biopic, about which the @Snowden account manager tweeted this:

For two minutes and thirty nine seconds, everybody at NSA just stopped working.

I reckon if they paused at the NSA it was to laugh, since the least funny thing about this unintended comedy is that Zachary Quinto is playing Glenn Greenwald. What, was Justin Timberlake not available?

From the trailer we learn that Snowden walks with broken legs and has a mind that’s 8 x faster than his peers. Dude is superhuman. This shit has to bomb. It has to.

Since the first draft of this post, Kevin Dooley brought my attention to Exit,  Snowden’s musical collaboration with French electronica musician Jean Michel Jarre. It aims to a spooky but hip reminder of just how completely surveilled we are, and what’s so striking is the complete absence of anything you could consider protest.

Finally, there’s Southside With You,  a film that purportedly “recounts the eventful summer day in 1989 when a young law firm associate named Barack Obama (Parker Sawyers) tried to woo lawyer Michelle Robinson (Tika Sumpter) during a daylong date…”

I’ve embedded all the videos below. Discuss.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Hollywood Trolling Hard with Snowden and Obama biopics

  1. davidly says:

    Whenever I go to the cinema — a less frequent occurrence the more time passes — I get utterly pissed off at the vapidity of trailers and offended by what the studios think I want to see. I know it’s a misguided use of my emotional energy and I should theoretically be able to critique in a more detached fashion. But I sure as fuck am not going to watch this fucking trailer.

    • Tarzie says:

      I avoid trailers and most recent movies also, but I found this so bad it’s good, perhaps because I don’t look at a lot of trailers. Definitely not for you, though. The striking thing about it is what they think people want to see and know. It’s unbelievably infantilizing. There’s no attempt to conceal the smell of bullshit from smarter people.

    • I have the same reactions to trailers. 50%+ are some kind of pro-military/cop propaganda/revisionism, most of the rest is crushingly bad millennials-in-the-city type trash. Even the decent movies have the worst, basest scenes excerpted for the trailers. Fuck cinema, fuck art.

      • Tarzie says:

        You’re right.

        It’s funny, when I was a kid I always made sure I got to movies in time for the trailers. Now I find them insufferable in bunches. But I am so rarely drawn to theaters nowadays so I don’t really give them a second thought. This conversation is kinda making me sad, because I love movies and I love seeing them in theaters, but there’s so much garbage you have to pick through and almost none of its worth the money. It’s no longer my thing.

  2. roastyagain says:

    God this looks awful. The worst part is that it has the potential elements of a great spy story: patriotic indignation, battles against old crotchety guys in suits with unlimited power, cynical amoral vamping, Nick Cage… it’s just so hampered by the fact that the reality it’s based on is full of paper mache people who make avocados look dynamic.

    Zachary Quinto as angry Glenn though… hahahaha jesus.

    • Tarzie says:

      “the reality it’s based on is full of paper mache people who make avocados look dynamic.”

      i guess you mean the specific people: snowden, greenspleen etc cause. i think you’d agree that people in intelligence are pretty interesting. But what’s interesting about them isn’t something that’s gonna get into this movie. Plenty of interesting movies about spooks.

      I think i would hate this movie even if it weren’t an infantilizing hagiography, because from this distance it looks like more bad-appling of the NSA with the usual pass given the CIA.

      • roastyagain says:

        Oh yeah, my point was in line with yours: movies about spooks don’t necessarily automatically suck; movies about the greenwald brain trust *will* because it’s the most banal shit delivered as breathless social commentary.

      • Tarzie says:

        Yeah, did you ever suffer Citizen Four? it seems like some kind of This Is Spinal Tap joke except the laughs are very few. It’s a horrible piece of shit. Horrible.

      • The CIA and NSA have been at each other’s throats for a while now. Call it a turf war.

      • Tarzie says:

        I think turf war is a possibility. CIA made a successful grab for the Pentagon’s business a while back. Snowden seemed to be setting the stage for a grab of the NSA’s SigInt business.

        Hard to tell, though. In the end, they’re mostly allies, so the whole thing could just be for indoctrination and distraction purposes. It’s been hugely successful in pivoting the Left toward privacy concerns rather than its traditional communal focus, and as you pointed out, it’s in the interest of the apparatus for people to know that it’s watching.

        Like any op, I reckon this one had multiple objectives.

  3. Lorenzo says:

    I didn’t want to waste any time by watching the “Snowden” trailer, but I only made it a few hours before curiosity got the best of me. Just a couple thoughts:

    -It looks like a bomb, since I can’t figure out who’s the audience for this film. People who aren’t interested in the Snowden story obviously wouldn’t be hooked by it, but people who are a bit familiar with the story have probably heard some iteration of it already. I also can’t remember the last time someone talked about seeing an Oliver Stone movie, but wikipedia tells me Wall Street 2 was a modest success. Still: OLIVER STONE’S SNOWDEN–who’s the audience? Also, I’d recommend this post for some great jabs at Stone and Chomsky: https://gowans.wordpress.com/2013/11/09/the-revolution-will-not-be-televised-nor-will-it-be-brought-to-you-by-russell-brand-oliver-stone-or-noam-chomsky/

    -I want to see more of Zachary Quintwald talking heatedly into the camera. I also want to see Joseph Snowden Levitt typing away on his laptop with a sheet over his head, because this is what wins Oscars.

    -My vote for most ridiculous moment goes for “are they watching us?!” and the zoom into the webcam/eye.

    • Tarzie says:

      wow I had no idea everyone was so averse to trailers. i don’t watch them but it’s only because im not interested in most movies being made these days. anyway, thanks for watching and commenting. Good stuff.

      I think it looks like a bomb too. I don’t get the feeling that there’s a lot of interest in Snowden in the general public, which speaks well of the general public.

      • The general public is still placing their faith in another round of interminable election theatrics and imagining that it actually means something. So, let’s not speak too well of them …

      • Tarzie says:

        I don’t think most people take the election any more seriously than they take snowden. Voter turnout hasn’t exceeded 60% since the 60s and mostly hovers in the low 50s. Approval ratings tend to be even lower.

      • “Voter turnout hasn’t exceeded 60% since the 60s and mostly hovers in the low 50s”

        True. I suppose there are stats needed to differentiate between apathy, stupidity and disillusionment as an informed protest – the latter having my ‘vote’ as an antidote to official culture. When voting ceases to happen at all and the State is literally ignored then I’ll start to believe that real collective change might be possible. Meantime, the propensity for “hope and change” i.e. wishful thinking still manages to trap even the very elect..as it were.

    • If they made a movie about the “heroes” of Benghazi, there’s room for this movie. Like it or not, they’re all famous for this caper and the awards will keep rolling in and they’ll become legends in history textbooks.

  4. Nicecore says:

    “They’re gonna come for all of you…with Oscars and establishment journalism awards.”

    Jesus, that Snowden voice. It’s impeccable but I’ll put money down on it dethroning Christian Bale’s comically overwrought Batman voice as Most Obnoxious Movie Voice Ever.

  5. This supports the idea that Snowden is part of a CIA psyops which is now backed up by Hollywood programming for the faithful.

    https://www.sott.net/article/317234-Mission-Accomplished-Snowden-NSA-Leak-had-chilling-effect-that-scared-people-away-from-learning-truth-about-terrorism

  6. Spy Culture says:

    It looks terrible, and Snowden’s tweet about the trailer is the most self-absorbed load of wank I’ve seen this year. Basically it’s World Trade Center for the 2010s…

    • Tarzie says:

      I was hoping you would weigh in. Looking forward to you and pearce pulling it apart and getting the background.

      • Spy Culture says:

        We will try, but I’m not sure I’ve a lot to add beyond what’s already been said about Stone.

      • Tarzie says:

        You have a segment on Stone? I’m gonna have to check that out.

      • Spy Culture says:

        No, I just mean people have criticised Stone quite a lot for WTC and for some of his rather lame attempts to say ‘yay, Left wing stuff!’. I got irate with him for a recent interview that was titled ‘Oliver Stone reveals which TV shows are CIA propaganda’ and in it there’s one line where he mentions 24 and Homeland. Like, wow.

        But JFK was really good. And I do like that he told the Pentagon to stuff it when they tried to rewrite Platoon. He’s not a bad filmmaker, but being a tiny bit rebellious in Hollywood echoes through the bullshit machine until he’s the new Robespierre…

      • Tarzie says:

        Oh darn. I thought there was a juicy story of how “the new Robespierre” was really a shill. Great last line, btw.

        It’s a wonder JFK got made. I’ve never seen it.

      • Lorenzo says:

        The 1990s seem like the last time when anything remotely resembling “counter-programming” could be seen anywhere prominent. That was the decade the jaws snapped shut, with the Telecommunications Act passing and the giants buying up every last thing they could, with consolidation and corporate risk-aversion only getting worse since then. Evidently Stone got a producer at Warner Bros. known for political material to give him $20m for JFK, and he did so in the last few years it would’ve been possible. Where back in the ’90s, one could still find producers with a link to the radical struggles of the previous decades, but today your best bet is Participant Media.

      • Tarzie says:

        That’s a nice concise history, Lorenzo and I think it’s spot on. Perhaps Seattle was the impetus for the apparatus to manufacture a left rather than infiltrate it. It was a good move, and with the media changes you described, pretty darn easy. All that consolidation sealed up all the little holes dangerous people and ideas used to sneak through.

        The internet posed a threat of breaking open new holes but we see how that went. Segment dominance in meatspace led to segment dominance on the web soon enough — predictably, really — and now opinion is managed and monitored at the very bottom with social networking. Naysayers have a 24 hour rubber room to spout off in. Mass surveillance seems almost gratuitous all things considered.

        It’s suffocating when you think of it. It becomes hard to imagine a time when things aren’t like this.

    • diane says:

      Spy Culture,

      I read your April 5th, 2016 review of The Writer With No Hands, regarding Gary Devore’s untimely CIA focused death. If I could stand having a twitter account I would do a poll as to how many are familiar with his name (just like – prior to the recent movie – I would’ve done a poll re knowledge of Gary Webb).

      The only reason I’m familiar with Gary Devore – his hands having been cut off… and his White Ford Explorer having been found in an aqueduct a year after that same aqueduct had been searched for his … Explorer; at the same period of time as he was working on a story about what really went on with the US in Panama – is that I happened to be ‘experiencing’ Santa Fe , New Mexico on July 14th, 1997; on the way back to Sly Con Valley, from an Illinois family reunion,.

      I was travelling alone in my car with a serious undiagnosable thermostat problem on Interstate 40 (previously known as Route 66) I found myself in a tire repair shop, as a tire had gone flat in Santa Fe, New Mexico. To read something while I waited, I bought the July 14th, 1997 [hard]copy of The Santa Fe New Mexican.

      Since I knew that in a few days I would be driving alone, on utterly desolate Interstate 40, across the Mojave Desert with thermostat (overheating) issues – and a minimum 80 mile gap between ‘service stations’ – within a week, the following article, on the front page, struck my eye (the following is from the hardcopy newspaper [1], which I’ve saved all these years):

      07/14/1997 The Santa Fe New Mexican
      Writer who visited Santa Fe is still missing
      The Associated Press [AP wire™]

      CARPINTERIA, Calif. – So excited he couldn’t wait to get home and start work, screenwriter Gary DeVore called his wife several times by cellular phone as he drove through the night across the Mojave Desert.

      DeVore was returning from Santa Fe, where he’d been bouncing ideas off his old friend, actress Marsha Mason.

      He told his wife he had made a major creative breakthrough on a script for a movie he was about to direct, a remake of the 1949 Robert Mitchum movie The Big Steal.

      The last call Wendy Oates DeVore got from him was after midnight on June 28.

      ….

      Family and friends believe the 55-year-old DeVore fell victim to foul play. They don’t think he dozed off and crashed – his new, white Ford Explorer would be visible.

      ….

      (I had imagined that he had been murdered for his new, white Ford Explorer . I was glad my car was far from new, yet left dreading the unavoidable trip across the Mohave and my inital plans to travel by night to avoid the blistering heat and radiator boil over problems.)

      Long story short, seems to me, the only true US whistle blowers, unlike Snowden, have historically end up in utterly horrid lives – or DEAD – UNKNOWN, ALONG WITH THEIR EXPOSES, TO ANYONE OUTSIDE THEIR LOVED ONES.

      [1] I favor Hard Copy not for its’ truth, but for the ability to prove what was originally written, about any given issue.

  7. thombrogan says:

    Thank you for posting that trailer, Tarzie! The guy playing Snowden did such a perfect over-the-top Christ complex martyr portrayal that I had to cheer. It looked like fake trailers in cartoons like The Amazing World of Gumball.

    Can’t imagine the actual movie being any good, though. It’d be funny/cool if the military entertainment complex texts the phones of everyone in the cinema during its screening as a chilling reminder of why Snowden and Teh Intercept are “so important.” After all, it’s just an overdone remake of the Geico scapegoat commercial

    • Tarzie says:

      if the military entertainment complex texts the phones of everyone in the cinema during its screening as a chilling reminder of why Snowden and Teh Intercept are “so important.”

      Ha!

  8. If there’s ever been a more degrading spectacle of fake dissent, I’m not aware of it: http://www.theguardian.com/music/2016/apr/28/edward-snowden-jean-michel-jarre-song-exit

    Of course the story is all too familiar, but the trailer comes off as completely uninspired. There’s no real urgency or alarm, just the continued promotion of a safe figure and his conservative messages of the importance of privacy and responsible courage.

    I think tedium has been a consistent feature throughout the spectacle. If you’re able to strip away the imposed sense of importance the event and its aftermath took on given the unusual amount of attention and adulation it received, there’s not much left standing. So my sense is even if this subject was approached seriously by a group of competent people, I still think it would ring false because they’re responding to something without an an authentic/dramatic core.

    I’m ambivalent about Stone in general, but I assume he has no chance of topping Citizenfour, which stands as one of the most boring cinematic experiences of my life. SPOILERS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPxICas0Pas

    The thing I hate most about propaganda products like this is they often work even when they don’t sell. This could tank (as I suspect it will) and still successfully reinforce the lessons and limitations we’ve all been instructed to internalize for years as we build up to its release. And I assume it will ultimately play a part in sustaining the lofty image of Snowden and all he ostensibly stands for, even if people don’t show up.

    Btw it’s somehow not the worst trailer I’ve seen today: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhd-yvMjImU

    • Tarzie says:

      Ratified Kevin.

      I saw your RT of “Southside” so I’ve incorporated it into the post. It’s a shame they don’t do double features like in olden times. Wouldn’t that be a night out, huh?

      • They’re both good examples of using genre conventions to mask what they’re really selling. If you go to the cinema when they’re both released, one will be the default spy film and the other the default romance.

        I imagine most people would see these projects as completely different in their focus and chosen subjects. The understanding that Hollywood is designed to manufacture propaganda products that serve power, which both of these films clearly demonstrate in their own ways, remains largely elusive.

        I agree with Sassy, fuck art lol

      • Lorenzo says:

        I agree with Sassy, fuck art lol

        The few people IRL who’ve heard me say “fuck stories” think I’m just being trollishly provocative, but like I said in the cartoonists post, “stories” are bullshit. For any actual radicals who find themselves outside the mainstream, “art,” “stories,” and all these anodyne words are just more avenues for receiving propaganda.

    • robertmstahl says:

      Real science says that Life is a performance, what occurs between birth and death. Obviously, then, through experience, if not ignorance, the performance is reduced to theater, crime, and hardly ecology, hardly the undying bread-and-butterfly or some other analogy. There has been an autopoieic journey over time (the most exciting at *the beginning* close to 4 billion years ago, with the “story” of protoctista, the “fifth” biological kingdom, compared to this?) that would, probably, flatten David Attenborough if the truth be told. Instead, what we get is history rewritten vis a vis performance [sic] that is not the following, for instance, The Words that Maketh Murder, by PJ Harvey. Considering “the words that gain pace”, it is where SHE leaves it when she says, “What if I take my voice to the United Nations?”

  9. No way jose says:

    Was citizenfour really that bad? Is that a generally shared feeling among all or just like… some? Having seen about 60% streaming before it was taken off said site, I personally found what I saw to be quite interesting and unique if maybe a bit lacking in obvious movement in certain scenes, like perhaps the one linked to, still, found there to be some sincere drama there.

    The “Snowden” trailer does look tacky but feel that overall it’s a net benefit to the cause that the movie gets made, and the man get aggrandized, (along with Gigiii who shall not be aggrandized further here by giving his full true evil name!!) because he good in his story outweighs the bad in it being propagated imho. Not to say one cannot acknlowedge the hackishness, white male ego centrism of it which is also there, and other things, but I’m looking at it more as a political object and transition of the national mythology than a moviegoing experience, which, by the looks of it, might just fall short.

    Also found it a little racist imho that they gotta have the black security guard play with the rubik’s cube while the white genius lancelot smuggles out the elixir of life in it and he fails to realize it. Seems like a little nothing but those little nothing’s always seem to swing in one color direction cha know and it can get tiring?

    • Tarzie says:

      hi Jose aka Jeffrey aka Sir Semi-Rancid. I see your trolling PR on behalf of people and ideas as banal as yourself hasn’t gotten any more interesting. why don’t you go give The Intercept a shout? Sure as fuck not going to engage on questions that have been answered on this blog again and again. Better keep switching your IP address bub.

      Everyone: Don’t feed the troll. I mean it.

  10. teri says:

    I can’t bear to watch even the trailers. Because, ew. Snowden, Greenwald, Obama?? And who would want to watch full-length movies about them? At the least, they could wait until these guys are dead to do the biopics; I mean, shit, we can watch them in real life right now.

    I’m old enough to remember when we tried to catch the subliminal messages embedded in the movies [“You’re thirsty”]; now they are making movies where the entire thing is a not-so-subliminal message. It’s like watching a feature-length Pepsi commercial. Hey, I wonder if you played the Oliver Stone movie about Snowden backwards, would you hear the voice of Donald Rumsfeld reading the entire text of the Patriot Act?

  11. davidly says:

    I too enjoyed trailers as a kid and think that Sassy’s right about their picking the last things from the film that would make me want to see it to highlight. Also, the nauseating nature of the modern movie experience is tragic given how much I’ve held cinema sacred. I was almost tempted last night to watch your embed, but managed to resist again. It can certainly wait at any rate.

    Interesting is — regarding kevindooleyirl’s allusion to the psyop power of even the most unsucksessful piece of poopyganda — the state’s ostensible outrage at the spy’s having ostensibly allegedly turned coat and ratted out the team is about as low-key as any such thing could be. All of the chips seem to be placed on hagiography.

    Finally, spot on is the assessment that they want people to know they’re under the swollen thumb. Couple that with the sense that they can know the truth and correct course and you got a society to confused to be aware of their confusion.

  12. robert says:

    “i want to make a difference.” prolly old newz to some folks:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Business_International_Corporation#Barack_Obama
    michelle o. ugh. “obesity in our [sic] youth is a national security threat.” this movie looks like it has less romantic interest than “A Walk to Remember” or those teen sparkly mormon vampire movies. or a zach efron film. one thing the trailer does nail though: BS slogans & psychobabble as anodynes to real material deprivation. cf. the article the NYT is fluffing yesterday & still today about obama’s economic legacy: “I’ve got a theory why some folks *feel* more miserable when gdp is up, up, up” (except this last quarter. ha ha.i didn’t read it. the pic of obama says enough.) as at the start of his tenure, so at the end, we are going to be subjected to tons of this hagio garbage about obama’s legacy. oh yeah, and michelle’s “it wouldn’t look good at work for me to be dating the new guy.” the movie has sighted the polaris of their love life: let me check w/the boss before we go out for ice cream.

  13. Hieroglyph says:

    Well, I enjoyed that trailer, it made me laugh. What came first, the action hero or the whistle-blower? Were they cunning and far-sighted enough, the CIA\Whoever could create a ‘Snowden’ character, allow him to drop a the whistle-blower non-bomb, then market their initial creation back to us in the form of a Hollywood movie. Maybe Snowden is just an actor, like in the Heinlein novel, where an actor becomes President?

    Well, maybe not. Still, if Snowden were a genuine threat, an actual whistle-blower like Manning, the best way to neuter his influence is, of course, to make a (bad) movie about him. One of the reasons I dislike biopics in general is that they reduce interesting individuals to simplified Hollywood 2.0’s. This simplification has a propaganda function too, no? I wonder how much money goes towards producing and making movies, via In-Q-Tel, etc. It can be entirely hands-off, but Directors are intelligent individuals and have careers to consider like everybody else …

    Anyhow, I will not be watching this movie, just as I have not watched any of the Assange smear-films. It won’t be any good, and you’ll learn almost nothing about Snowden himself, though Quinto as Greenwald might have a certain comic value. Mostly though it’s Nick Cage I feel sorry for, a talented actor who possibly has a few money worries. All those castles in Scotland aren’t cheap …

  14. Hummus says:

    Oh why can’t it all be over.

    hi

  15. “The few people IRL who’ve heard me say “fuck stories” think I’m just being trollishly provocative, but like I said in the cartoonists post, “stories” are bullshit. For any actual radicals who find themselves outside the mainstream, “art,” “stories,” and all these anodyne words are just more avenues for receiving propaganda.”

    Yeah I agree. Setting aside taste, I think my avoidance of movies/tv being produced these days is largely self-defense. I still find myself watching some things here or there to get a sense of what’s going on, but I’ve completely given up trying to keep my finger on the pulse of everything. And the more I insulate myself from it, the less tolerant I am of people who mindlessly consume this shit and try to force it into nearly every interaction.

    When observing the general cultural landscape, I sometimes think of this scene from The Third Man: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDplfsZxrbg (Welles makes the same point out of character here: https://youtu.be/JK7BNKNZ5Gc?t=74)

    I used to think this was true, but it simply doesn’t correspond to what’s happening in the US right now. For example, I think the quality of film has objectively declined a great deal, but why? Assuming his point is correct, we’re certainly not lacking the conditions for great art to emerge. Power dynamics may have been different at certain stages, but this country has always been ruled by a class with an obvious interest in shaping attitudes using all available means.

    I can’t tell exactly when things shifted, but it’s clear to me just by looking at cultural products that things became far more circumscribed in a very short period of time. And the most alarming part of all this is there seems to be very little awareness of it, and when there is, it’s usually accounted for by pointing at the childish nature of the average American. Producers like David Simon seem to think support for a project is simply based on its perceived commercial appeal: https://twitter.com/AoDespair/status/685187387216015360

    Ultimately I see propaganda like this as the most intractable form of oppression because it’s often invisible to the people being conditioned by it. And as far as entertainment is concerned, most people seem to think things are improving because of signaling and the sense that a discussion about representation and compensation within the industry is a sign of cultural progress. Of course, other forms of oppression like police violence take on liberal solutions as well, but at least some people see the institution itself as inherently oppressive. How many people really see Hollywood as an enemy?

    It’s not implied in the first clip, but part of the reason I always assumed the best art is forged from volatile circumstances is because at its core I believe it to be an act of resistance. In the case of a great story, I think it has the unique capacity to reflect the nature of violence and power back to people in a form they can intuitively understand, which is a potential threat to the status quo. It seems in recent years not only is this kind of work discouraged and marginalized, they have found a way to completely remove it from the mainstream. The stories produced now are not all that different as far as subject matter is concerned, but the layer of insight that makes depictions of violence worthwhile is pretty much gone. And even hinting at the ruling class/the real obstructions to progress is impermissible.

    If you look at the text of a juggernaut like Game of Thrones, it’s focused on people struggling for power, yet there’s nothing useful about power to be learned from it. Like in most other dramas, there’s stuff about personal ambition and selfishness, but it’s just worthless when it isn’t openly reactionary. I really don’t think it’s just the natural inclination of the show’s fans that has them endlessly speculating on plot as opposed to thinking about what the story might actually mean. There’s just nothing there.

    I honestly think it’s best for anyone in the early stages of political development to throw their tv in the trash until they’ve read a bit/worked on fundamentals. This shit is that pernicious.

    • “The 1990s seem like the last time when anything remotely resembling “counter-programming” could be seen anywhere prominent. That was the decade the jaws snapped shut, with the Telecommunications Act passing and the giants buying up every last thing they could, with consolidation and corporate risk-aversion only getting worse since then. Evidently Stone got a producer at Warner Bros. known for political material to give him $20m for JFK, and he did so in the last few years it would’ve been possible. Where back in the ’90s, one could still find producers with a link to the radical struggles of the previous decades, but today your best bet is Participant Media.”

      Thanks for answering my question before I asked it. I’ll try to read next time.

  16. So Far Right... says:

    Never make a lawyer movie without a courtroom showdown scene, never make a ‘spy’ movie about IT nerds copying super secret files to a flash drive.

  17. diane says:

    Why did you post, then erase, my remarks to Spy Culture, about screenwriter Gary DeVore? They were on topic as to Hollywood as an arm of propaganda; and the revelations that do and don’t come out of Hollywood, to my mind.

    EDITOR: It was a glitch. Your second draft was a reply to yourself. When I deleted the the comment you replied to, the reply went with it, though there was no indication of that happening in the comment administration dashboard.

    Don’t reply to yourself with a second draft and it won’t happen again.

    It’s a good comment and entirely on topic.

    Spy Culture,

    I read your April 5th, 2016 review of The Writer With No Hands, regarding Gary Devore’s untimely CIA focused death. If I could stand having a twitter account I would do a poll as to how many are familiar with his name (just like – prior to the recent movie – I would’ve done a poll re knowledge of Gary Webb).

    The only reason I’m familiar with Gary Devore – his hands having been cut off… and his White Ford Explorer having been found in an aqueduct a year after that same aqueduct had been searched for his … Explorer; at the same period of time as he was working on a story about what really went on with the US in Panama – is that I happened to be ‘experiencing’ Santa Fe , New Mexico on July 14th, 1997; on the way back to Sly Con Valley, from an Illinois family reunion,.

    I was travelling alone in my car with a serious undiagnosable thermostat problem on Interstate 40 (previously known as Route 66) I found myself in a tire repair shop, as a tire had gone flat in Santa Fe, New Mexico. To read something while I waited, I bought the July 14th, 1997 [hard]copy of The Santa Fe New Mexican.

    Since I knew that in a few days I would be driving alone, on utterly desolate Interstate 40, across the Mojave Desert with thermostat (overheating) issues – and a minimum 80 mile gap between ‘service stations’ – within a week, the following article, on the front page, struck my eye (the following is from the hardcopy newspaper [1], which I’ve saved all these years):

    07/14/1997 The Santa Fe New Mexican
    Writer who visited Santa Fe is still missing
    The Associated Press [AP wire™]

    CARPINTERIA, Calif. – So excited he couldn’t wait to get home and start work, screenwriter Gary DeVore called his wife several times by cellular phone as he drove through the night across the Mojave Desert.

    DeVore was returning from Santa Fe, where he’d been bouncing ideas off his old friend, actress Marsha Mason.

    He told his wife he had made a major creative breakthrough on a script for a movie he was about to direct, a remake of the 1949 Robert Mitchum movie The Big Steal.

    The last call Wendy Oates DeVore got from him was after midnight on June 28.

    ….

    Family and friends believe the 55-year-old DeVore fell victim to foul play. They don’t think he dozed off and crashed – his new, white Ford Explorer would be visible.

    ….

    (I had imagined that he had been murdered for his new, white Ford Explorer . I was glad my car was far from new, yet left dreading the unavoidable trip across the Mohave and my inital plans to travel by night to avoid the blistering heat and radiator boil over problems.)

    Long story short, seems to me, the only true US whistle blowers, unlike Snowden, have historically end up in utterly horrid lives – or DEAD – UNKNOWN, ALONG WITH THEIR EXPOSES, TO ANYONE OUTSIDE THEIR LOVED ONES.

    [1] I favor Hard Copy not for its’ truth, but for the ability to prove what was originally written, about any given issue.

    • diane says:

      Thanks for the re-post, and sorry for the hassle.

    • diane says:

      Of course, the Mohave is not at all desolate… as to being ‘uninhabited.’ There is desert adapted life, and, most certainly, Corporations, the DOD, and worker drone human beings – even though it slyly does not appear as such, at all – the US DOD and their Corporate colleagues and elite owners have been entrenched there for nearing two centuries[1]:

      http : // l aughingsquid.com/ the-first-a erial-illuminated-drone-show-in-the-united-states-takes-place-over-the-mojave- desert/ (Intel Corp.: Intel [™] premiered the project over the Mojave desert .)

      https : // govbooktalk.gpo.gov /2013/11/07/ arming -the -fleet-the-compelling-story-of-a-secret-navy-base-in-the- desert/ (…a compelling story of China Lake[™])

      http: // www . theatlantic.com/ technology/archive/2013/05/its -artificial-afghanistan-a-simulated-battlefield-in-the-mojave-desert/ 275983/ (It’s Artificial Afghanistan: A Simulated Battlefield in the Mojave Desert – An hour northeast of Barstow [not much further away from poverty engulfed L.A./HollowWood, interesting that they chose Barstow as a reference instead- diane] , California, there’s an army base the size of Rhode Island, complete with a fake Afghan town known as Ertebat Shar.)

      http : // www . desertusa.com/desert-california/discover- highway -58.html

      http : // digital -desert.com/mojave-preserve/military- history. html

      http://mojavedesert. net/military/

      Anyway, back to the main subject, Hollywood Propaganda, this 05/12/16 twitter comment was indicative of HollowWood’s (likely from its inception) direct linkage to the DOD (and its privatized owners):

      In order to unlock Independence Day movie extras fans must allow US Army recruiters access to their Facebook pages

      [1] spaces inserted in the ‘url’s to minimize “hyperlinks” and ease comment posting, given so many ‘url’s, etcetera.

  18. wendyedavis says:

    great comments, and some are downright hilarious. i got nuthin’ myself, except to ask ‘where was GiGi in the first one? And as to ‘Exit’: that was supposed to be music? Eek, it should come with warning for epileptics; I swear my brain went bonkers. And the ending: :If you don’t (something), who will?” Ye gods and little fishes. Didn’t he say once that people should vote on whether or not they wanted to be spied on? Well, maybe that’s what he meant: ‘Getcher local NGOs to force a vote’ or something.

    Ayway, the reason I stopped by is that I’ve been grabbing links and art from @cordeliers on the Twit machine, and I saw this today while retrieving some more Gates/GMO news. My guess is that you all will understand the allusions that I don’t. The account name says ‘OmidyarNetworth’, but when it’s open it’s something else.

    • wendyedavis says:

      Ooops; it does give that name. But when I open that Tweet from a Word document, there are maybe 30 more Tweets beneath it, some with photos, some about Snowden attorney Albert Ho…

    • Tarzie says:

      i got nuthin’ myself, except to ask ‘where was GiGi in the first one?

      Zachary Quinto as Glenn Greenwald can be seen around 1:57.

      • wendyedavis says:

        Thank you; I’d never heard of that actor. Ish to all of it. I did click the hyperlinks in the above tweets, and some of the images and quotes from an old Snowden interview are in there. But I put the tweet in a browser again, and clipped these, but took out the hyperlinks:

        OmidyarNetworth May 6 (pro letariat)
        This Oliver stone joke of a movie can be used as a teaching opportunity on how current @CIA psyops may be rolled out.
        Hint: they think everyone is stupid.
        Hint: they’re mostly right.

  19. wendyedavis says:

    Please say you’ll have some fun with this.

Leave a Reply

